DYW Dundee & Angus Appoints School Co-ordinators

DYW Dundee & Angus Appoints School Co-ordinators

Developing the Young Workforce Dundee & Angus has recently appointed a Co-ordinator in every secondary school across the area, to help drive forward work-based learning and industry engagement with pupils, preparing them for the world of work.


As part of the Young Person’s Guarantee, the Scottish Government has funded these posts, reaffirming its commitment to the DYW agenda within schools. This additional resource will be extremely valuable in re-establishing industry partnerships that may have suffered due to Covid restrictions, and in building up new partnerships to inspire young people as to the career choices available to them, and to develop their skills to make them a valuable addition to the workforce.


In Dundee & Angus, most of these Co-ordinators are existing members of staff, who have been given dedicated time to spend on developing work based learning opportunities in their school. Hilary Roberts, DYW Dundee & Angus Manager said, “The focus on DYW has always been providing experiences for young people to bring them real life examples of what working life will be like, and showcasing the career paths available locally. We rely on local businesses to help us with this, partnering with schools to help with activity such as career fairs, classroom projects, CV & interview skills, site visits and work placements. During lockdown, although we quickly shifted to delivering virtual and online activity, some partnerships have been put on hold, and we now need to re-establish these partnerships and develop new ones. These new co-ordinators will give us the resource to do this, and to really embed the ethos of DYW into every school.”


The School Co-ordinators are:

Baldragon Academy – Claire Collin

Braeview Academy – Paul Harper

Craigie High School – Katie Turner

Grove Academy – Murray Redford

Harris Academy – Peter Flood

Kingspark – Caron Yeoman

Morgan Academy – Stewart Haddow

Rockwell Offsite Education Centre – Sarah Clark

St John’s RC High School – Keith McArtney

St Paul’s RC Academy – Anna McFarlane

Arbroath Academy – Andrew McArtney

Arbroath High School, Brechin High School, Forfar Academy and Webster’s High School – Annemarie Smith

Carnoustie High School – Carolyn Joss

Monifieth High School and Montrose Academy – Russell Brown

Panbride – Rozie Arnott